May 29th - July 31st
Fondazione Officine Saffi
Via Niccolini 35a Milano

Exhibition hours:

Tuesday - Friday
10:00 am - 1:00 pm; 2:00 pm - 6:30 pm

11:00 am - 6:30 pm

free entry
May 29th - July 31st we invite you to discover the Officine Saffi Award finalists exhibition (un)Known Territories in our new milanese venue.

Officine Saffi Award 5 "(un)Known Territories" presents works by Carolina Raquel Antich, Andres Anza, Dorete Bendixen, Burçak Bingöl, Heidi Bjørgan, Javier Bravo de Rueda, Kaiting Chan, Tessa Eastman, Ion Fukazawa, Hanna Heino, Gitte Jungersen, Jihyun Kim, Chryssa Kotoula, Hanna Miadzvedzeva, Effe Minelli, Irene Nordli, Angel Oloshove, Héloïse Piraud, Irina Razumovskaya, Davide Ronco, Ioana Maria Sisea, Sissi, Carl Richard Söderström, Zoe Williams, Bettina Willner-Browne, and Bari Ziperstein.

A special section within the exhibition - Focus: The Netherlands - features works by Funda Baysal, Koos Buster, Willem van Hooff, Koen Taselaar, Kim Wawer, and Floris Wubben. Focus: The Netherlands is curated by Geertje Jacobs and produced with the support of the Embassy and Consulate General of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in Italy.

Activating the potential of the ceramic medium in response to the open call (un)Known Territories, each works reflects on the richness of meanings that can be found in an open definition of the term “territory”: physical matter, sedimented and in constant transformation; place of discovery; subject and object of knowledge in the making; a narrative device that binds personal and collective stories, places and cultures.

The award biennial exhibition fulfills two important objectives of the Fondazione Officine Saffi: promoting a horizontal dialogue between contemporary art, design, and craftsmanship, and creating an international platform for exchange between institutions, artists, and communities.

Residency prizes partners: Fundación Casa Wabi, Mexico; Bruckner Foundation, Switzerland; Museo della Ceramica di Savona, Italy; Guldagergaard, Denmark; International Ceramic Art Festival, Sasama, Japan; Gaya Ceramic Arts Center, Indonesia.

Jury: Alberto Ríos De La Rosa, Alison Britton, Cristiano De Lorenzo, Patrizia Sandretto Re Rebaudengo, Emanuele Farneti, Alberto Cavalli, Valentina Ciuffi, Salvatore Arancio, Krzysztof J.Lukasik, Laura Borghi, François Mellé.

The announcement of the winner of the first prize, the residency prizes, the under35 prize promoted by 4Arts, and the special prize Officine Saffi will take place on the occasion of an invitation-only preview hosted by Fondazione Officine Saffi together with door, May 28th.

The exhibition is open to the public from May 29 to July 31, from Tuesday to Friday 10:00 AM - 1:00 PM; 2:00 PM - 6:30 PM and on Saturday from 11:00 AM to 6:30 PM.

(un)Known Territories is promoted under the auspices of Comune di Milano, Fondazione Cariplo, MIC - International Museum of Ceramics in Faenza, and the International Academy of Ceramics.

Media partner: door
Thanks to: Artribune; That's Contemporary.

Visual identity: Studio Vedèt
Cover image: Piergiorgio Sorgetti